School board election results released
by Paisley Boston
Nov 06, 2013 | 5259 views | 0 0 comments | 22 22 recommendations | email to a friend | print
On Tuesday, Bolivar County citizens cast their votes for school board members in Cleveland and in the two newly created county school districts.

The Mississippi Legislature voted that Bolivar County had to reduce the number of its school district and mandated that the five county districts would become two and Cleveland School District would remain as is.

The North Bolivar Consolidated School District will encompass North Bolivar and Mound Bayou Districts and the West Bolivar Consolidated School District will include West Bolivar School District, Shaw School District and Benoit School Districts.

In North Bolivar Consolidated District 1, John Coleman won school board trustee with a total of 91 votes, but Roger Morris did not trail too far behind him, having a total of 86 votes. Evelina George came in last place having 21 votes.

For North Bolivar School Distict 2, William H. Lucas Jr. won with 118 votes.

Candidate Anita Smith received 97 votes and Sylvia Coleman received 47.

School board candidate Glen Scott won trustee in District 3, having 93 votes while C. Redding Gallion slid in with 72 votes and Tyrone D Miller Sr. received 41 votes.

In District 4, Fredrick King won with 83, while J. Idleburg Haywood trailed very closely behind him with 79 votes, Anthony Pitts received 59 votes and Tracy Y. Dunn received 57 votes.

Ruby T. Miller dominated the competition in the West Bolivar School District one, having a total of 232, and candidate Dale R Ward received 191.

In district two, Pamela D. Tucker won with 69 votes, Kenyun Johnson 40; Levon Jackson Sr 29; and E. Warren Robinson 16.

B. Phillips Turnage received 97 votes, while Jacqueline Lloyd lagged closely behind with 95 votes, and Kimithy McKenzie received 65.

As previously mentioned, the results are unofficial.

The Bolivar County Election Commission will convene its certification process on Thursday at 9: a.m. and will determine the disposition of 21 absentee ballots and 108 affidavit Ballots.

The Bolivar Commercial will publish the official results of the elections when they have been confirmed.