More named for city offices
by Denise Strub
Mar 27, 2013 | 3133 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The city clerks of Ruleville and Shaw have released the names of those running for mayor and aldermen.

Running for mayor in Ruleville are Shirley Edwards, incumbent, and R.L. Brand.

Rodney “Doc” Frothingham will run for mayor as an independent.

Running for aldermen are: incumbent Jo Anne Frothingham, Eddie Childs and Betty Miller in Ward 1; incumbent Jay Nash in Ward 2; incumbent Marvin Hawkins and Mary I. Robinson in Ward 3; incumbent James “Butch” Jenkins and Willie Robinson in Ward 4; and incumbent Billy Marlow and Rickey Scott for alderman-at-large.

LaScherrie Jones Wilson will run as an independent candidate for Ward 1.

Ruleville, along with Cleveland, will have a Primary Election on May 7. The General election will be on June 4.

According to Shaw Mayor Willie Mae Johnson, all candidates in that city are independents and the process is an at-large election.

Candidates for mayor are incumbent Johnson and Lamar Franks

Candidates for aldermen are Gary Griffith, Nell Steacen Durrah, incumbent Rodger Dale Carter, Sylvester Kyles and Quinton Westmoreland.

Candidates were to turn in qualifying papers by March 8 and absentee ballots were made available on March 23.

According to the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office, municipal clerks are encouraged to remain open from 8 a.m.-7 p.m. April 1-5 and from 8 a.m.-noon April 6 for voter registration

Qualified candidates have until April 5 to contact The Bolivar Commercial for a free front-page story on their candidacy for office.

The candidate or a BC staff writer may write the story. All stories will be no longer than 15 inches and will be printed by April 21.

Contact Managing Editor Denise Strub at 843-4241 for more details.