Haywood named region MVP
by Donell Maxie
Feb 01, 2013 | 2912 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
John F. Kennedy’s Frederica Haywood was named Region 3-2A Girls Most Valuable Player in basketball.
John F. Kennedy’s Frederica Haywood was named Region 3-2A Girls Most Valuable Player in basketball.
Coaches and officials with Region 3-2A basketball recently concluded their district meeting and handed out their regular season awards.

Several area players received accolades, but none as huge as John F. Kennedy's Frederica Haywood who was named the Region's Girls Most Valuable Player.

This year, Haywood has led the Lady Hornets to an 18-3 record with two games left to play in the regular season. In the region, the Lady Hornets are 8-2 and in second place.

This season, Haywood is statistically having her best season averaging a double-double. Overall, she is scoring 14.1 points per game and pulling down 11.6 rebounds per contest. Against region opponents Haywood has been a little better averaging 16.1 points per game and 11. 4 rebounds.

"Frederica has grown a lot since she came to us," said Lady Hornets head coach Linda Allen.

"She works hard everyday and the team works really hard to get her the ball. She has been a force for us inside, especially rebounding the basketball. She is a joy to coach," Allen added.

Frederica, who is a junior, has been a leader for the Lady Hornets this season and said she was thankful to be chosen for the award.

"I just want to thank everyone who voted for me for this. I want to thank my coaches and my teammates and my family for helping me become a better player. This season, I have put in a lot of overtime working to be the best I could be," said Haywood.

In addition to the Region's MVP award, Haywood was also named to the Region's First Team. Other members include: Felixcia Evans (Coahoma County), Eugenia Gillman (Coahoma County), Kalesha Williams (West Bolivar) and Ieysha Mays (JFK).

The second team includes: Vantaisha Jones (West Tally, Janesha Lee (West Tally), Tasharia McAdory (Aggie), Massie Cooper (Broad Street) and Tamaria Thomas (Coahoma County).

Coahoma County racked up the remaining awards as Evans was named Defensive Player of the Year, Melvinisha Jenkins was named Newcomer of the Year and Derrick Moore was named Coach of the Year. The County also received two honorable mention players in Jenkins and Kyra McClenton.

On the boys side, Broad Street's Ade Jones was named New Comer of the Year, averaging 10.1 points per game for the Jaguars.

The Region's MVP is Aggie's Trevious Allen while his coach Michael Stringer was named Coach of the Year. West Bolivar's Deguadereck Rice was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Region first team members are: Allen, Tremaine Austin (Aggie), Frank Fields (West Bolivar), Jones (Broad Street) and Fred Nabors (Coahoma County).

The second team includes: Flo Robinson (Broad Street), B.J. Hall (Broad Street), Melvin Marshall (Aggie), James Evan (Coahoma County) and Cedric Tanner (West Tally).

Eddie Taylor (Coahoma County) and Xavier Robert (JFK) received honorable mention.