DSU to host Gala Dinner
Oct 22, 2012 | 3791 views | 0 0 comments | 214 214 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Delta State Alumni Association is hosting the third annual Alumni Awards and Gala Dinner Friday at Walter Sillers Coliseum at 7 p.m.

Award winners to be recognized this year include: Nan Sanders (’67) – Hugh Ellis Walker Alumni Service Award, Paul “Bubba” Mancini (’00) – Kent Wyatt Young Alumnus Service Award, Homer Sledge III – Gladys Castle Friend of Delta State Service Award, Gene Ayers (Renaissance) – Legacy Award, Dr. Edward Milam (’65) – Hall of Fame, Stan Topol (’65) – Hall of Fame, and Dr. William C. Bell (’82) – Outstanding Alumnus of the Year and Hall of Fame.

President Elizabeth Fike will also induct Dr. Bell into Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK).

“The Alumni Awards and Gala Dinner was an initiative taken by the National Alumni Board of Directors to bring alumni constituents together in a more formal setting all in the name of Delta State University,” said Director of Alumni Affairs, Jeffrey Farris.

The Golden Circle, one of the most prestigious constituency groups of the Alumni Association, will also be recognized.

The Golden Circle is comprised of Delta State alumni who graduated 50 years or more ago.

The Class of 1962 is this year’s featured class.

Delta State President Dr. John Hilpert will induct them into the Golden Circle.

Tickets to the dinner are $20 each and can be purchased by contacting the Alumni Office at 662-846-4660 or alumni@deltastate.edu.

For more information on the award recipients, pick up a 2012 Homecoming Preview at the Alumni Office, or view it online at www.deltastate.edu/alumni.