Candidates qualify for new school districts
by Denise Strub
Sep 07, 2013 | 3878 views | 0 0 comments | 36 36 recommendations | email to a friend | print
On Nov. 5, Bolivar Countians will head to the polling booth.

Up for election are the leaders of their children’s future —school board trustees.

Friday was the qualifying deadline for candidates in the counties soon-to-be three school districts, the Cleveland School District, the North Bolivar Consolidated School District and the West Bolivar Consolidated School District.

The Mississippi Legislature voted that Bolivar County had to reduce the number of its school district and mandated that the five county districts would become two and Cleveland School District would remain as is.

The new school districts will come into affect for the 2014-15 school year with new school boards to be elected in November and then trained.

Qualifying for the North Bolivar Consolidated School District, which will encompass North Bolivar and Mound Bayou Districts, are Subdistrict 1 — Evelina George, Roger Morris and John Coleman; Subdistrict 2 — Sylvia Coleman, Anita Smith and; William Lucas; Subdistrict 3 — Glen Scott and Tyrone Miller; Subdistrict 4 — Jacklon Haywood, Joseph Womack and Tracy Dunn; and Subdistrict 5 — Jefferick Butler.

Candidates for the West Bolivar Consolidated School District, which will include West Bolivar School District, Shaw School District and Benoit School Districts, are: Subdistrict 1 — Ruby Miller; Subdistrict 2 — (none); Subdistrict 3 — Subdistrict 4 — Elexo Robinson, Pamela Tucker, Blanch Turnage and Levon Jackson Sr.; and Subdistrict 5 — Kimithy McKenzie; Kenyun Johnson; Queen Coleman; and Jacqueline Lloyd

According to Bolivar County Circuit Clerk Marilyn Kelly, who released the names Friday afternoon, after the election the school boards will have the authority to appoint a person to the empty subdistricts.

She also wanted voters to know that no fees were required to apply as a candidate and a political party did not need to be declared.

Cleveland School District Subdistrict 3 was open for candidates and incumbent Richard Boggs was the only qualifier.

In a previous story according to Interim Deputy Superintendent for the Mississippi Department of Education Mike Kent, the decision making powers for the school districts will be in the hands of the existing boards until July 1, 2014.

Kent explained further that the central office of the new North Bolivar School District would be placed in Mound Bayou and in the West Bolivar District, it would be placed in Shelby.

However, Kent said, according to Mississippi Code, a school board for a particular school district can vote to move that central office to any location that they so choose.

According to the numbers presented by the MDE, after the consolidation occurs the North Bolivar School District would be comprised of approximately 1,265 students and the West Bolivar School District have approximately 1,689 students.

Kent said redistricting of the school districts was lead by PEER with support from MDE and the secretary of state’s office.

Once voting lines were mapped out, the U.S. Department of Justice had final approval.